dear bryant

I messaged you on June 2rd. randomly. just thinking i should catch up with my 8th grade graduation walk partner. I actually remember waiting for you to message me back but you didn’t. I must have been bored that day. You didn’t message me back that day or the day after so I figured I guess you didn’t want to catch up. June 5th, you messaged me back and by then, i wasn’t bored anymore and never messaged you back. 

i regret never messaging you back so much right now. I truly wish i got to catch up with you one more time. I didn’t know what was going on in your life but I just remember feeling that I really should catch up with you. I really should get to see how you’re doing. I didn’t see I didn’t know what you were going through and I wish i could have just talked to you a little. I wish i could have just said a prayer for you and your family and friends. I probably couldn’t have done much but at least i could have tried. 

My favorite memory of you was in 8th grade. Sadly it was so long ago. I lost touch with you with I moved high schools and lost even more touch with everyone in California when I moved to Texas. But my favorite memory of you was having you as my 8th grade graduation walk partner. You were the first boy to ever ask me to anything. To walk together for graduation. it was 8th grade, nothing else was really going on in my life so this was a big deal. I remember being nervous because I didn’t have anyone yet but then you came out of the blue and asked me.. i was relieved. I wasn’t stuck with a boring guy. I wasn’t stuck with someone who wasn’t fun. yay! Thank you for that. I’m glad it was you. I’m glad I got to share a great milestone with you. I’m glad I got a special moment with you in my life. 

From what i know though, you lived a great life. Full of love, of energy, of life. Full of support from friends and family. You put up a great fight during the past two years. I only saw happy photos of you. I saw laughter and joy, and fun and youth. I only saw love between you and your friends and your family. That’s comforting to know. It’s comforting to know that you are now resting in peace. Or if not resting, it’s comforting to know that you are now by God’s side, probably playing basketball up in Heaven. I can only imagine. Just know that although your time on earth was short, it was meaningful, wonderful, and beautiful and now God has called you home. 

Leave a Reply

